A fixer upper?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
So ive had this idea for a while and i really have no idea as to how common a thing it is but its still proving difficult.

Haven... let me be a little more clear. It was a refugee camp that blew up into one of the largest points of light of its age, that is until it fell. A sorcerer, powerful on his own, sought more power to protect what had become a large kingdom and was turned mad when he was tricked into turning into a lich.

years later a refugee begs for you to journey into the now dead infested city and retreive an heirloom.

now, what i wanna do is maneuver the players into getting assistance for the raid on the massive numbers of undead, having the survivors of the attack populate and rebuild. I would like to do this early on so the players have a place to base from.

now i'm new to dmming and im having a bit of trouble covering all the angles. can any of you point me in the right direction?
Start small, and work your way up. You wish to use the rebuilt city as a base, but before you do that, you should try to give the PCs a smaller base - not so much a headquarters as a comfort zone, a place where the refugee can stumble across the heroes, or perhaps even arrange to meet them. A small village or a chapel that caters to travelers could do the trick. Create a couple of friendly-face NPCs who will be useful in giving the PCs information about the lay of the land; maybe an ex-soldier who fought against the undead and failed to hold the city, or a poet who fled the city and witnessed the atrocities firsthand. Allow the heroes to familiarize themselves with individuals plagued by the undead; they don't have to go door-to-door to hear everyone's life story, just try to set-up the threat of the undead on an emotional level. Maybe not every PC will be hooked, but it will help develop the atmosphere.