Simple attack bonus and damage questions

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to D&D 4e and I have a few questions about calculating attack bonuses and damages

1. On the 4e character sheet, is there any difference between the Attack Workspace / Damage Workspace and the Standard Attacks section? Do different weapons/abilities go in there or are the workspaces just more detailed places to calculate the attack and damage values that you plug into the Standard Attacks section?

2. My wizard has a +1 magic staff. Does this give him +1 to attack and damage rolls for his spells (like freezing burst)?

3. We have a rogue in our group and we've seen a few things about dexterity-based melee dagger attacks for him. But I can't find that in the core books. Is this something that is from some other book or am I just overlooking it in the core books?

Thanks!
1)  Not really.  Don't sweat the details of the blocks on the character sheets, they're more for convenience than anything else.  Learn how they're determined, and go from there.

2)  Yup.  Magic implements apply an enhancement bonus to attack and damage rolls with attacks with the Implement keyword, which is all of your Wizard's spells.  Special case:  that staff is also a weapon, and so it would also apply an enhancement bonus to attack and damage rolls with attacks with the Weapon keyword, such as Melee Basic Attack.