Best deck for starter

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey guys,
I'm new to magic the gathering, for now I've been playing with my friends decks, but I would like to buy one for myself.

I think that buying a duel-deck or an event deck would be the best thing to do.
The problem is, there are so many to choose from. I've been looking at lots of them individually but I can't decide. I was hopping someone would give me their opinion about which one to buy and why. Or if I should just buy the deck builder's toolkit.
(As a starter, the deck shouldn't be too hard to use, and of course, quite powerful so I don't lose every match against my friends)

Thank you in advance!
for the Duel Decks get any of them
I played most of them, and they are all really fun to play against one another
they might not be so suited to play against well tuned decks your friend might command

as for Event Decks, if you want it to be Standard legal there currently aren't that many options because of the rotation
either go for "Sweet Revenge" from M13 that can be made Standard legal with minor adjustments (switch out just 8 cards total) or wait for the 2 from Return to Ravnica
if Standard Legal is not a consideration go for any of them, personally I'm partial to "Into the Breach" from MBS, simply because it was my first ;). Red Deck Wins is a great competitive budget option, and this one is well build with good cards in it

Deck Builder's Toolkit is also a good option, but it will not give you a good deck out of the box
proud member of the 2011 community team
I started off with a M13 Intro Deck. Honestly, I'd suggest a Deck Builder's Toolkit. It's going to give you a nice, watered down intro on deck building and a bunch of lands you'll need. It's always a good feeling to build a deck and beat someone with it. Well, not literally. You don't want to damage your cards on some poor guys head.