Sudden Olivia price spike?

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm not sure if this is in the right forum, but I just noticed that Starcitygames and Channelfireball have Olivia listed at 20$ (or something close.) When I bought my playset of Olivia last month, it was only around 4$. Did she suddenly gain a bunch of standard appeal? I thought Aristocrat was the go-to 4 drop for B/R in standard. Now that I notice it, Aristocrat seems to have spiked as well...

I'm kind of new to standard so I'm sorry if this has an obvious answer.
While I can't say anything reliable on the Tier 1 playability of these cards in the new format, I wouldn't be surprised if the prices were hiked purely based on all the hype about Jund and BR Zombies, to say nothing of Rakdos-theme decks. BR did get some nice toys in RtR as well.
Standard Pauper! (play it on MTGO)
It's based on the fact that she smashed face at SCG:Cinci 

IMAGE(http://www.nodiatis.com/pub/5.jpg)

That, and the only reason she wasn't played was because Delver Decks were so unfair.

(at)MrEnglish22

HOLY poo poo!
HOLY poo poo!

Yup. Traded mine away for some neat stuff. Glad I had 6 of them lying around.

(at)MrEnglish22

Just noticed that a few days ago & ordered 2 off a different site for $7 +shipping. Bought my first at the Dark Ascension prerelease. Looking forward to a Jund happy winter :-)
Yeah, Jund is likely gonna be one of the Tier decks to beat.  Cram all the best creatures and all the best removal into one deck.  It's gooood.  And Olivia is its finisher.  I mean, I'm not sure if you noticed or anything, but she's STUPID GOOD.  Hi aggro, wipe your board.  O hay midrange, hand me your board.  Hey control, I noticed you can't actually play your finisher right now. 

catowner wrote:
Welcome to 2012. Blue has the most efficient creatures, black has the all-in monocolored aggro deck, the most controlling deck in the format is green-red, control decks lose to aggro in attrition wars, and counterspells aren't an answer to fatties.