My Dragon Deck

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello all! I am still fairly new at things but have managed to accumulate enough assets to build my own Dragon Deck. I was hoping you all could help me out with suggestions to make it better and possibly Standard legal, which I know might be very difficult. I am open to any and all suggestions. Sorry I did not link the cards, did it earlier but lost internet connection so had to redo all this and didnt want to redo the links. Thanks!

Creatures

x2 Goblin Fireslinger
x2 Goblin Arsonist
x2 Slumbering Dragon
x3 Stormblood Berserker
x4 Dragon Hatchling
x2 Dragonspeaker Shaman
x2 Furnace Whelp
x1 Dragon Whelp
x1 Ryusei, the Falling Star
x1 Two-Headed Dragon
x1 Hellkite Charger
x2 Flameblast Dragon
x1 Kilnmouth Dragon
x1 Balefire Dragon
x2 Furyborn Hellkite

Other Spells

x3 Shock
x4 Lightning Bolt
x2 Krenko's Command
x2 Seething Song

Lands

x22 Mountain

The quickest strategy gets a 12/12 Furyborn Hellkite out by turn 4.  Theres more in there that work but they are just situational plays for the most part.
Successful Standard Dragons is a tall order. You can do it, but it's gonna be SLOW. 22 lands will not be enough.

First impressions. Slumbering Dragon, Stormblood Beserker, and Two-headed Dragon seem like filler, I think the space can be better utilized. But as I'm looking for alternatives, I'm finding myself moving you further away from Standard, not closer. Maybe some more mana ramp in the form of Rite of Flame, 2 more Dragonspeaker Shamans, or maybe 2 more Krenko's Command for early chump blockers (Why not Dragon Fodder for the flavor points?).

It'll be interesting to see where this one goes. I've never had a lot of success with one-on-one dragon decks, the best dragon deck I've come up with is R/B/G for multi-player. 
Hmm...

Well, if you want to move into Standard, let's look at what we've got left that's legal. Oh, and by the way, you can use