Make me better!

29 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ok so I have just recently found this forum and I must say, I have learned a lot from it. Before DotP 2013, I didn't know that MtG existed, so I am very new at this game. What I would like to do is post some of my decklists and get some commentary on them from the community. Help a n00b out here! I'll start with my favorite two decks and perhaps I'll post the others later on... we'll see.

Crosswinds

Show

The idea here is to stabilize early (hence 3x hatchling and 3x fog bank) and start producing drakes. Bribery and RoR as well as anything on Panoptic mirror are certainly other win cons, but I find drakes to be the most reliable to set up a win. I like grav shift over favorable winds because of the negative effect it has on opposing ground forces. Future sight is a BEAST, always happy to see it.

Ancient Wilds

Show
[deck]
1 joraga warcaller
3 elvish visionary
1 fauna shaman
1 ring of kalonia
2 thornweald archer
3 beast within
1 carven caryatid
1 eternal witness
1 spawnwrithe
3 wood elves
2 briarpack alpha
2 erratic portal
2 natural order
2 vengevine
1 wolfbriar elemental
1 yeva, nature's herald
1 overrun
2 stingerfling spider
2 thragtusk
1 gaea's revenge
2 pelakka wurm[/deck]

I used to play a Wild Pair-oriented version of this deck but found that I was usually losing by the time I got it out so I revamped it to have a much lower curve. Joraga warcaller is one of my favorite cards because of the effect he can have on all the other weenie elves in here. I included the ring of kalonia for either him (+1/+1 to all elves every turn? yes please!), or spawnwrithe. I didn't think much of him before, but he immediately impacts the board when he's down. People may scratch their heads over no taunting elves or acidic slimes, but I find the former unreliable and the latter overcosted for its effect.  Erratic Portal is the best card in this deck game. Seriously.