Engaging Terrain Suggestions

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey there, I am relatively new to DMing and I have noticed that my players take to interacting with the terrain a lot. So now I am going to start incorporating engaging terrain into most or all battles/scenes for them to toy with. I only have a few ideas and figured a nice list would be cool to have. Here are some of the ones I've thought of (some aren't as original and unique as others):

Ballista - used by an enemy/broken and needs repair; grants a twice per encounter power dealing medium damage for the APL.

Hanging Lanterns - can be cut down with ranged attack; deals weak damage for APL in close burst 1.

I'll post more as I think, currently it's bedtime and typing on the phone in a half-slumbering state is not working out.

Check out my new blog at http://www.epicdungeonmaster.com for a tips on being an Epic Dungeon Master! Articles released every Monday, Wednesday and Friday!

Traps. Many, many sweet traps. The best thing about traps is that they can be used by the group against monsters if caught early enough.

Multiple levels. There are many cases of smaller towers with multiple levels. Defend the tower and with each failure retreat a level until there is a big showdown on the top.

Holes in the floor. In my last session a player was standing with his back to one and decided to grab onto the evildoer in front of him, to prevent from being pushed into the hole. He didn't count on the evildoer jumping into the hole with him attached though...

Broken down houses and towers. Hard to get to the next level, you can break down walls...

Bar fights using stools and casks and mugs and gnomes as projectiles.

Curtains, tables, fires, cooking pots, gongs, levers, braziers, locks, locked chests, ropes.
There are 145 entries in the online Compendium's "terrain" category.  You might take a look there for inspiration too.  Also, the DMG1 p. 60 and following and the DMG2 p. 58 and following have nice discussions.