Looking to make a Golgari Themed deck

41 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to Magic. I used to play in the Portal era but took an extremely long vacation from it to raise my kids and start up college funds. I'm back now and only play kitchen table style casually with my two sons, which are new to Magic. I've always been a fan of Green and Black, so the Golgari seem like the perfect fit. I don't have a large budget so I need cards that are fairly easy to get. I am looking to buy more packs of Return to Ravnica to help get more cards. There's really no restrictions other than my budget. I'm thinking about $50-70 tops. I do have some cards already that might work in the deck but I've never really built deck before that utilizes the Creature/Graveyard style of the Golgari. Here's what I have that I think might work. I would appreciate any help on what you think needs to be in the deck, what doesn't work, and what I should get. Thanks.

These are the cards I think fit the theme. I don't need an immensely strong, tournament style deck but I do want it to be competitive, and fit the style of the Golgari. I would love to get a Vraska the Unseen for the deck. Hopefully, I can pull one since I probably can't afford one anytime soon. If possible, just let me know what you think should or would work and why. Remember, I'm kinda new and am still trying to figure out all the new mechanics. Thanks guys and girls.
Dredge Cards like Maybe Life From the Loam or Golgari Grave-Troll are effective to get cards in your graveyard easier to power up Boneyard Wurm and Jarad. Corpsejack Menace will really help out your Scavenge cards. As well as Wild Beastmaster or Champion of Lambholt to make it easier for attackers. Maybe a Tormented Soul that you can Scavenge to make a strong unblockable creature. All fo these cards are cheap or are in the new Golgari Duel Deck or Intro Deck.