A potentially interesting question: What is "gotcha" DMing to you?

59 posts / 0 new
Last post
The question is "What is 'gotcha' DMing defined as to you"? I think this is an interesting topic because I think it is an excellent measuring stick by which to gauge the difference between what is "fair" and what is "not"...especially because I generally believe that to be just about 100% up to presentation.

I don't wish to "taint" the responses or bait anything by immediately vomiting my own answer into the OP, so I'll let the community begin in the interest of discussion.

I'm on a journey of enlightenment, learning and self-improvement. A journey towards mastery. A journey that will never end. If you challenge me, prepare to be challenged. If you have something to offer as a fellow student, I will accept it. If you call yourself a master, prepare to be humbled. If you seek me, look to the path. I will be traveling it.

Proudly playing in many wrong ways. I'm not afraid of playing wrong according to the rules. Why are you?

100 Crack Reply of the Yagamifire. You are already wrong.

To define it as broadly as possible, any DM style that enforces one "correct" outcome to an encounter (and consequently shuts off play if the outcome is incorrect). 

This sort of thing was rampant in pre-3e modules (and is still lingering around to some extent). Tomb of Horrors-style play is the most obvious example, where if you didn't take very specific (and often counter-intuitive and non-obvious) actions, your entire party was toast. Randomly-guessed solutions have thankfully gone the way of Sierra games for the most part, but every once in a while you find an atavistic DM who thinks that sort of thing is hilarious.