My Rakdos Build

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello! I'm new to the Standard scene, having come into Magic only a couple months ago. I've decided to make a Rakdos deck from cards I got from the prerelease, booster draft, packs, and trades. I'm posting it because I think it's a bit different from the other Rakdos builds here.

20 Creatures

4x Rakdos Cackler

4x Rakdos Shred-Freak

1x Rix Maadi Guildmage

3x Splatter Thug

1x Cryptborn Horror

4x Hellhole Flailer

2x Carnival Hellsteed

1x Chaos Imps

19 Other Spells

3x Pillar of Flame

4x Dreadbore

2x Searing Spear

2x Mizzium Mortars

3x Brimstone Volley

3x Auger Spree

3x Rakdos Keyrune

21 Lands

4x Dragonskull Summit

2x Rakdos Guildgate

8 Mountain

7 Swamp

Any help would be greatly appreciated. What am I missing? What should I replace? What's just bad?

Also, I'm very hesitant to buy any budget-breaking cards. Shocklands, Vexing Devil . . .

Tips for a sideboard would be awesome, too.

Thanks! 

Your friendly neighborhood Revenant Minotaur Half-Blooded Dragonborn Fighter Hybrid Barbarian Multiclassing into Warlord

IMAGE(http://pwp.wizards.com/1223957875/Scorecards/Landscape.png)

Unfortunately friend, there is a reason that other decks here aren't like that one, and it isn't for lack of consideration.

I tried Hellhole flailer, but in the end, he was really just neat because he Flings himself, and you could do more damage for less using brimstone volley, which you have anyway.

Also, 21 lands means you'll be hard-pressed to cast imps, hellsteed, or overload mortars. 
The rest just isn't threatening. Actually, I am playing with the idea of Splatter thug to enable Rakdos, lord of riots (hoping they're sufficiently scared by first strike), but otherwise, cackler is a decent early game, but he doesn't last, shredfreak is a tiny fireball. I just don't see something that would put you over the edge in a variety of matchups.