[CRL] Ravenloft Painting (and 3D Paper props) for lazy people

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
photobucket.com/3DRavenloft?albumview=sl...

My group wanted to have a figure painting session between adventures. I order to not embarrass myself, I started painting a week before our get-together - but it had been 15 years since last time....

I decided that I'd paint the figures in my Castle Ravenloft game. Lots of folks had done it, so there were great examples and guides, such as: blog.gamesparadise.com.au/ravenloft-pain... (which I used heavily, especially for the burning skeletons and zombie dragon.)

My problem is, I'm LAZY - and good paint jobs take hours each. Multiple colors, washes, highligting, etc. But I'd read about Dipping - quick paint followed by dark furniture varnish. I must say, this was AWESOME for me. Several of the figures in the set would have some quick detail added (such as the skeleton's shields and swords) and then be simply varnished. The Dracolich - quite intimidating - simply got dipped and I used "mud" to cover the mess on the base. 

To show off my work, I decided to shoot them in situ on the Ravenloft board, but adding 3D paper terrain with 3D paper props (again, lazy.)

photobucket.com/3DRavenloft?albumview=sl...

Very nicely done . Me jealouse
I dont have the patience for it. I would actually pay extra to have it painted

Well done!
Very cool! I'm still in the process of painting my figures, but I may have to steal a couple of your ideas. Again, very nice.
Nice minis. Question: How do you store them to keep the finishes from rubbing off?
@Wizzywiz Thanks! It goes pretty fast using the Dip method. The spiders were prime (desert brown), dab with white on the tips of the legs, dip, dry, mud the base, and then spray with matte finish spray. Total time each about 5 minutes.

@merb101 Steal away - since I stole from others first! :-)