What does these stats mean?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm just starting out in DnD and I'm a DM, it's really fun, creating and setting up everything. Anyway, I've ran into some troubles. I'm using the "Keep on the Shadowfell" book and I see some stats for Kobold minions:

What do these stats mean?

In the picture, there is a line that says "Ranged 10/20", does this mean the creature with this stat can only attack someone between 10-20 squares from them?

What does "+5 vs. AC; 4 DMG" mean? Does it mean the enemy deals extra damage against Armour class bceause that sounds unlikely.

What's the point of (-1) in Str 8? Why can't it just show Str 7 instead?

Another line read: "Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier (+5) damage." Whatt does 1[W] mean? 

Thanks heaps for taking the time to read this.
Ranged 10/20 means normal range up to 10, from 11-20 you take a -2 penalty to the attack roll.

+5 vs. AC is the bonus you add to the attack roll (say you roll 12, your to hit becomes 12 + 5), 4 damage is the damage the attack does.

A strength of 8 or 9 grants a (-1) modifier, a strength of 10 or 11 grants a (0) modifier and so on.
When you make certain checks, such as skill checks, you don't use the full strength but rather the modifier for calculations.

1[W] stands for 1 times weapon damage.
I'm just starting out in DnD and I'm a DM, it's really fun, creating and setting up everything. Anyway, I've ran into some troubles. I'm using the "Keep on the Shadowfell" book and I see some stats for Kobold minions:

In the picture, there is a line that says "Ranged 10/20", does this mean the creature with this stat can only attack someone between 10-20 squares from them?
It means that from 1-10 squares away its a normal attack. From 11-20 its a long range attack and you take -2 penalty

What does "+5 vs. AC; 4 DMG" mean? Does it mean the enemy deals extra damage against Armour class bceause that sounds unlikely.