Christian cleric/paladin?

27 posts / 0 new
Last post
(Disclaimer: This is my first thread/post, so I apologise in advance for any mistakes)

Hello everyone!
I am relativley new to D&D (I started playing a few months ago), and I have a problem. I (and my group) all play our P.C's as Christian. Now, the "Channel Divinity" powers require you to worship a certain god, so we don't use them. However, this weakens our party's palidin and cleric. So what would you suggest to balance it?

Thanks! 

IMAGE(http://www.nodiatis.com/pub/6.jpg)

I would suggest that you just ignore the requirement that you worship a certain god, or as a group decide which channel divinities and domains seem to fit the christian god the best and give the god those domains and those channel divinities available to the cleric/paladin.  Now you would have to make sure that you are playing in a world that really only has one god.  If you are using any other gods in the world as say satan or something I would just exclude that or those gods domains and channel divinities from the ones you can choose.  Now if your world you are playing in includes all the gods presented in D&D then I have to ask why you are playing characters that follow a false god in your world instead of a real one.  Not that you can't, but then it would make sense that your characters lose both domains and channel divinity since there really is no divinity they are following.  It could be cool to then have them gaining power from one of the actual gods that is presenting itself to them while hiding true identity and then give the domains and channel divinity of that god available to them.

Ok end of wall of text and ramblings.