Practical "Barbarian" Optimization

25 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi all, I am new to 3.5 and will be playing my first game in a couple of weeks. I've been doing a lot of reading to get up to speed and have come up with a character, but I feel like I need some help to take it to the next level. I am frustrated by the fact that a lot of the advice I can find revolves around things I am entirely uninterested in, like ridiculous amounts of unarmed attacks or dipping into all sorts of caster and psychic classes.

What I am trying to make is an ubercharger/control "barbarian" who can both do heaps of damage and help protect the other party members, probably by tripping.
I know a lot of people advocate only taking a dip of a level or two into Barbarian, which is fine.

Here's what is allowed:
32 point buy
Virtually everything allowed subject to DM approval
Forgotten Realms, but things from other settings that aren't too reliant on things specific to that setting are ok (example, dragonmarks from eberron are out but Song of the Heart is ok)
Evil alignment barred, although I suppose I could have been evil and then switch to good.
Starting at level 5
9k starting gold

Here's what I've got so far:
I know that the core of the ubercharger is Power attack, leap attack, shock trooper, and ideally pounce and knockdown.
I know that there are at least 4 useful skill tricks: Extreme Leap, Never Outnumbered, Nimble Charge, and Twisted Charge.
My primary weapons will probably be a Guisarme, a greatsword, and armor spikes/locked or spiked gauntlets.
I don't want to go into Bear Warrior, Frenzied Berzerker, frostrager, black blood cultist, primeval, totem rager, or champion of Gwynharwyf. I don't mind dipping Fist of the Forest or other prestige classes if it's worth it, but I have no real interest in unarmed combat. I would like to avoid psychic powers.