Nicol Bolas for a Newbie

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi All,

So I'm a complete newbie at Magic. My friend and I started collecting recently as something else to do besides play video games and stare at glowing screens. I only have cards from the recent block M13, Innistrad, Avacyn, Dark Ascension.

Anyway, I got a Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker and I've been trying to come up with a feasible deck to use him in.

This may be way too general of a question, but how do you build a deck around this guy? I'm assuming you use gem of becoming, and maybe artifact creatures? Is there any way to get him out before turn 8?
You'll have to use the scarce mana ramp, that exists in Bolas colors within these sets in order to get him out earlier. Those colors are usually not known for speeding up your mana, at least in recent times. Some options: Warden of the Wall, Vessel of Endless Rest, Deranged Assistant.

The entire deck is going to be controllish, because an aggressive deck usually doesn't get to the point, where 8 mana spells can be cast. Well, if things go right. So you might want to hide behind some Fog Banks, Murder big opposing threats, Dissipate their game changing spells, and occassionally sweep the board with Mutilate. Things like that.

Since the key card is 3-colored, some color fixing is nessessary. Like the already mentioned Vessel of Endless Rest, Evolving Wilds or some dual lands.

You might also want to include sometutors or card draw to get the guy, when you're ready to cast him.
I threw him  in a multi-colored Myr deck that I use in casual games.

The Deck uses
Palladium Myr
Myr Galvanizer
Alloy Myr
to generate mana of all colors, and potentially get an infiniate mana combo.

since the deck isn't built around him, I expect to get him out very rarely, but it does work!

Hope that helps