My Kids Are Butchering Me--Frustrated

34 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am a 44-year old father of three boys. Two in high school and one in middle school. I am new to Magic, so I am at a significant disadvantage when I play against them.

I bought the Wild Rush (2013 Core Set) theme deck to get started, but I'm struggling. I played six times against my oldest son yesterday, for example, and I won twice, just barely. The other times, however, I just got smoked. My son used a mono white deck for three matches and a red burn deck for the other three. The frustrating part though is that he just threw his decks together and was able to easily win, while I had to really struggle and hope that he didn't draw what he needed.

Against the red deck, I found that I was in single digit life points (on the wrong end of Lava Axe) before I could even get my deck going and I could never recover. Against the white deck, my son would play things like Pacifism and my big green creatures would just sit there on the battlefield looking dumb until I eventually lost to a whole bunch of little 1/1 white creature tokens.

I could really use some help because I love learning to play MTG with my kids, but I would like to be a little more competitive than I am now. I like the black cards in the Wild Rush deck, so I am toying with more black/less green or mono-black and more creature removal potential.

Help. 
Precons are hardly ever a match against a deck in the hands of an experienced player, even if the experienced player just threw the deck together. Have them play with your precon, and you play with one of his decks. You will probably still lose more often than not.