Tapping for Newbies

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am new to card-based games. Recently I bought two boxes of Dungeon Command and tried to play a game, but I found the rules about tapping a little confusing.

1. Does tapping occur every time a creature is activated? On its turn? When playing an interrupt?

2. If I move and do a minor, but no standard action, is my creatured tapped?

3. Does gathering treasure cause the creature to be tapped?

4. When one of my creatures is attacked, is it tapped, or is it only tapped if I play a reaction order?

Thanks!
1) No, No, Yes (unless the card specifies otherwise)
2) Nope (and you can actually do as many minors as you want)
3) Yes
4) Attacking doesn't cause it to be tapped (unless the attacking card has a special ability), and as before with interrupts, it will be tapped unless the card says otherwise

You tap a creature only when:

1. It takes a standard action.
2. It takes an immediate action.
3. It assists another creature.
4. An order card or creature power requires it to tap.

Examples: Collecting treasure is a standard action, so the creature taps. Using a minor action does not cause it to tap, unless the minor action uses a power that requires tapping. Dodging a ranged attack when the creature has cover is an immediate action and requires it to tap.

Also, cowering explicity does not cause the creature to tap.

Hmm, okay, then I really am not understanding tapping.

It seems to be a rare occurance related to special actions such as following an order or obtaining treasure, right?

As an aside, what are the little arrowhead markers with the numbers on them for? In my initial game, I could not figure out what they are used for.

Thanks!
Hi Hreth, okay that makes it a little clearer. I'll play through following those rules and see how it goes.

Thanks!
The numbered arrow pieces are for when you multiple copies of the same creature on the board. You place one of the numbers on the card, and one on or near the creature.