Hit Die: Or are all Wizards are wimps?

Serioulsy you guys?

Genflaps here, mountaineer by trade as well as master of the mythical arts.
You'd be surprised by all the varrieties of mountain flower that a good Herbalist can use.
Sure my fitness has suffered slightly from all the hours I've devoted to the arcane arts, but I can still get out there on the cliff face anyday,
and I do, every second Sunday.

Even the Mountain Dwarfs recognise a hardier human than most climbs the great peaks.

My Constitusion has been rated as 16, which they tell me give me a +3 bonus to all hardy tasks.
And soaking up the grueling punishment of life is why I use d8 Hit Dice.

Now I would be a d10, but the doctors tell me my choice of profession has impacted my hardy somewhat,
but stuff em, I'm still hardier than most.

Cept those Mountain dwarfs of course, some of them, I hear told get up to d12.

========

So yeah. The idea.

Base Hit Dice is d4
Constitution modifier increases HD step.
Classes can have Hit Dice step modifiers, ie Wizard's HD step = -1

So for our friend Genflaps: !6 CON => +3 mod -1 wizard = +2 HD steps

ie
d4 => d8 
http://collectingrealities.blogspot.co.nz/
I literally just wrote something like this in a thread over. I think there's something to adding the dimension of classes adding a modifier and calculating a thing at the end, but don't classes do that anyway?
That's how Con actually works right at the moment. You get your Con mod added to your Hit Dice every level and every +1 to hp equals going up one hit die.
Yes, as Fleck said, a +1 modifier is the exact same thing as a die increase. Average of a d4 = 2.5. Average of a d6 = 3.5.
Yes, as Fleck said, a +1 modifier is the exact same thing as a die increase. Average of a d4 = 2.5. Average of a d6 = 3.5.

The average is the same, but the max goes up by 1 (d4max+1 = 5; d6max=6).
And if you have a +3, the average of d4+3 and d10 is the same, but the max goes up by 3 (d4max+3 versus d10max).