Hey, kids!

A lot of the forum posts here reference gaming experience as a way of establishing cred (e.g. I've been gaming for 20 years and I started with AD&D), but I'm wondering how many teens or early twentysomethings are out there browsing these boards.  These are the players who are going to either take this hobby into the future or see it consigned to the "model train ghetto".

So, do you fit that demographic?

If so, what edition did you start with and what do you think of the current playtest?

3rd edition, and I think the playtest is trying too hard not to be like 4th edition, and doing itself a real disservice in the process. The advantage and disadvantage system is nice, although it's gettign a little overused, I'm liking combat supuriority, but then there's the gear system where's it's back to 3.5's set up of basic weapon and armor choices being mostly irrelevant at higher levels, but even more so since shields, dual weapons, and two handed weapons no longer have much impact, and the disunified spell system, I really preferred having spells and attacks using the same basic mechanics, the current system is gonna be a hot mess to scale to higher levels.
24, started with 3rd ed for a few years then move onto 4th.

Personally I'm in the opposite corner to rampant, I love the way the new playtest is going and I see the playtest as containing the main premise of 4th entirely, the game is a lot simpler, streamlined and once the maths is worked out I imagine balance and scaling will be great.

That balance is the 4e feature thats coming through but because its not a literal mechanic or written down system, people seem to think 4e is getting overlooked. Even if they CLEARLY arent there yet.

By the way... if you want more replies offer us candy and let us do this interview in your house, you can give us a ride in your van.