Problem with a Black Burn deck: mana and sideboard

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
I've got two main problems with my deck: www.mtgvault.com/ViewDeck.aspx?DeckID=38...

1 - Average CMC is pretty low, so I was thinking that maybe I could put in the deck less than 24 lands, maybe 22 or even 20. I would prefer a mathematic answer cause I made this deck using excel. However an experience answer will be accepted too. Is there some math book about mana?

2 - It doesn't have a sideboard. I don't really get how it works (how can you put the sideboard cards in the deck if you don't know who are you going to play with?) and I don't really know how to make one. Could someone make an analysis of the weakness of this deck? Against which kind of decks I could easily lose? And could you also give me some card advice? I'm a beginner and I'm not able to understand the whole thing.

Thanks!
1.)  The deck actually isn't that cheap.  Also, the mana base has 4 lands that will always enter tapped, which requires you to run a few more lands to minimize that effect.

2.)  You put together a sideboard to deal with the typical decks you should expect to see.  In a generic Modern tournament, I'd expect to run into a fair amount of Tron, U/W/R Delver, U/W Control, RUG Delver, Storm, Birthing Pod combo and Affinity.  You need to pack some answers to those decks.  The sideboard would include these situational answers to the deck.

As for the deck itself, it looks really, really bad.  Everything has very little effect and it looks like it's just a very slow drain.  Slow life loss usually doesn't fair well when you're getting hit by a giant two mana beast or a flying Wild Nacatl from the start of a game.  You don't kill fast enough to avoid being killed by a lethal Grapeshot from a Storm deck.  Plus, the deck has pratically no removal, so you lose to the Splinter Twin/Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker combo decks.