Opponent making up rules?

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello!  I'm new to MTG. Starting playing a couple weeks ago. Love the game. I still got lot's to learn though. Anyways to my questions...

I have a card I like to play called Nightmare Void.  My opponent (my friend who is teaching me the game) seems to be telling me rules that just don't feel right.  Because I'm new, when I play Nightmare Void, I want to make the right choice on picking which card I want him to discard. Only he gets mad saying that I'm "studying" his hand even though Nightmare Void makes him reveal it.  Is he allowed to tell me to take a glance and pick a card? Or do I have the right to read through them so I can choose more wisely? He also tries to hide cards on another and fans out the rest, what do I do if I catch him cheating like that?

He also says I'm not allowed to view his graveyard, slapping my hand once because I reached for it. Is that true?

I may have more question later.  Thanks in advance for any replies.

You can read each card in his hand. You should ask him to see his graveyard, but yes, of course your allowed to look at it.

What should you do if you catch him cheating? I dunno, sock him in the kisser. Or kick his balls.

139359831 wrote:
That is a lovely painting of Richard Garfield. It really brings out his feminine side.
Nightmare Void

his hand stays revealed until the spell has finished resolving, which means at the very least until he has discarded a card
trying to hide cards while revealing the hand is cheating and in a tournament setting would be a game loss at the very least

you can look at his graveyard
he may object to you picking up his cards, but you are allowed to see them

try and find another player to play, I wouldn't want to play with someone like him
proud member of the 2011 community team