How to challenge the powergamers IN combat?

129 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ok, So I have a group of six players all of who are good friends and 2 who are first time players. The group has just incredible synergy. I've been DMing for about 3 years and I've never seen a party that works as well together as this one. The strikers just chew enemies up. the defenders lock down everything within the first turn (if not the first couple of rounds). The leader drops heals and buffs with pinpoint precision and the controller does an excellent job of helping the defenders stay sticky and the strikers mainting combat advantage. All characters are heavily combat optimized, which is something i'm accustomed to. The thing is they also tend to do just fine on skill challenges. None of these are bad things of course. I love to see team PC suceed and look awesome. Its probably the best part about DMing for me.
I've started adding alternate goals to combat, making failure a condition that rarely hinges on smoking team monster. LIM is probably one of the single most useful tools for mixing things up that I've found. So, the core of my issue i suppose is that I can't seem to challenge the players in combat anymore. They tear through encounters like butter. We play about a 3-4 hour session every week usually accomplishing 1-2 encounters an hour. Thing is, I've moved to having most of the encounters as PC level +3 and they STILL manage to drop everything I throw at them in record time. Its getting to the point where I have players calling me out. (Friendly of course) I've even been asked to TRY to kill their characters. However, I can't even get close.
So my real question if I had to boil it down would be- How do I make the threat of death a real issue in combat for these guys?

As it might be helpful, party composition is here:
Level 6 group (4th edition)
Strikers:
Elf Archer Ranger (eyes set on battlefield archer)