How to determine loot

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
I was curious to know how I should go about determining what monsters are carrying?  I know there's a "treasure" portion in the 3.5 Monster Manual; and I'm a newbie DM to the 4th edition (waiting on my redbox and dm kit)--can anyone give me a brief answer?  I was also wondering if there is some sort of roll (d20) or something that would determine if what a leader is carrying is a magic item or not.
For 4e: The Rules Compendium has a random treasure generator, and the first Dungeon Masters Guide has instructions for designing hoards that can be applied into encounters a little less randomly. There's nothing really that determines if an enemy has any loot or  magic items on it in a random sort of way, so if you and your players want it random, I'd go with the Rules Compendium route. Items don't affect monsters in 4e much, and they tend to clog up their mechanics more often than not in my own experience. Better to adlib a monster using an item than to have it actually use one.

Hope this helps. Happy Gaming
It does help, but how do PCs get geared?  Other than experience, what do they get rewarded at the end of a quest?  I suppose in a prepared adventure it's written, but if I created one... I would have to reference the rules compendium.  Is there anything in the DM Guide about it?
Well, if you map out events in an adventure like most printed material does, you can make a list of items to drop on the PCs at the end of encounters and just assign them to whatever encounter you feel like. If you'd like to just roll randomly and see where it goes, build a hoard as per the DMG's instructions and have players roll for loot every so often.