Doesn't Feel Like a Sorcerer

This doesn't feel like a Sorcerer to me. I started playing in 3E and the Sorcerer was my bread and butter. I've always hated vancian magic and elitist wizards. Wizards master magic through research and study. Warlocks take the easy road to magic by making a pact with some powerful being.

But Sorcerers are born magical. It is in their blood. They grow up using magic, becoming more powerful the more they use it. Magic is like a muscle to Sorcerers, an integral part of their body that they don't know how to live without it.

Alright enough without how I feel about Sorcerer's.

My main point is that magic is in a Sorcerer's blood, NOT in his second dragon soul or whatever it is. While the magic blood in a Sorcerer may come from a dragon ancestor, I don't think that that dragon lost part of its soul during procreation. While trying to control your inner demons and transforming when you no longer can may seem fun, it is not a Sorcerer. A Sorcerers magical ability is as a part of him as his arm and he has just as much control over it. Struggling to stay normal is what the Hulk does, not a Sorcerer.

And mechanically it doesn't feel like a Sorcerer. The idea of willpower is good, although a name change is in order, but a caster in heavy armor using a sword and shield is not a Sorcerer.  Even the warmage only had light armor in 3.X.

Get rid of the possessed soul thing and reduce the armor. If you want a melee Sorc give him light/medium armor and if he wants a shield make it a magical force shield like what the Swordmage had in 4E. And give him more magically buffs, either through spells or class features. And don't just give him Wizards spells you think work in melee, give him cool spells to use in melee. I want my melee Sorc to send a wave of force through a group of enemies and then slash the remainig bad guy with his flaming sword. Basically a melee sorc should be a jedi/elemenalist mix.

Hopefully the caster Sorc spec will be better.