Homebrewed Shadow Classes | Defender

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
So I realize I may be a little late to the party here, what with most of the discussion on the subject I've looked for apparently petering out a year or more ago and 5e on the way, but my friends and I only recently got into 4e. When we learned about the Assassin and the sadly-abandoned Shadow power source, we decided we wanted to run an all-Shadow party and went looking for homebrewed classes. While we found a few interesting and cool ideas some of us will likely use (particularly the excellent resource found here, before someone accuses us of not doing our research ;) ), I wasn't 100% happy with any of the defender options others have come up with (most seem to be attempts to riff on the anti-paladin theme) and decided, why not make one ourselves? However, I have zero experience in homebrewing content for 4e, so I turn to you, the Internet, for help! I'm going to start with a core concept and work from there, hopefully with the input of you more experienced homebrewers out there to achieve a reasonable level of balance and fun flavor. I hope to eventually flesh this fledging class out until at least early Paragon tier, with a couple options for paragon paths and maybe some class-specific feats. Depending on how successful we are here and how happy my fellow players are with their characters after a couple play sessions, I may move on to other class roles later.

What I want to end up with is something that echoes the Assassin's style somewhat. A Dex-based defender that focuses on mobility, some stealth, and maybe a buildup towards a single "big" turn once every few rounds. Since Dex will be primary, I also kind of want to experiment with the idea of a ranged build option for the class too. Here's our initial idea, with commentary in italics.

The Veilguard
(Working name for now obviously, subject to change based on how the flavor of the class turns out.)