New to 4e, need help making a character suited to my RP style.

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everybody,

I started playing 4e (& D&D) this summer, and it's been a ton of fun. My problem, I guess, is that my character, although not bad at all,  doesn't fit me as well as he could for RP purposes, mainly. I'm not planning to just ditch my current character but as my friends and I all start heading off to our separate colleges, the possibility of starting in another campaign looms large and I'd rather have a character that feels more tailored to me.

My current character is a Dragonborn Assassin (Executioner), prime stat Dex, secondary Cha, tertiary Con, dump Int/Str. Level 5.

Things I like about this character:

• Tons of minor action options- I can do more than just standard/move most rounds

• Tons of options in and out of combat- our ranger twin strikes every round, our wizard uses beguiling strands, but no one can ever be quite sure what i will do- dragonbreath, poisons, acrobatics, invisibilty- all these things make my character fun to play because I always have an option.

• High damage numbers- I know from a few looks at CharOp that Executioners will never be DPR kings, but I hit hard enough that every once in a while I get those "holy sh**" looks from around the table, and love it.

Things I don't like:

• I need charisma to be a primary stat- I am easily the most willing to RP in our group and have leader-y tendencies IRL that translate into my character acting as party face despite having the third-highest Cha.

• I lack encounter powers- as an e-class, I have one encounter power from my class, and three more encounter minors I picked up from race, theme, utility respectively. Luckily, my at-wills aren't bad, but I would prefer to play a non-e-class so I have actual encounters.