I love the enforced flavor

While the thread title is meant to be a bit inflammatory, I don't mean for my post to be. I'm actually and honestly curious where the hatred for "enforced flavor" has come from. I started playing D&D during 3rd Edition (I played a few 2E video games, mostly the Infinity Engine games), and to me most, if not all, of the classes had implied flavor. It was part of what made the default setting of D&D ... well ... D&D. Paladins were paladins, rangers were rangers, monks were monks ... It allowed players to speak a common language. When the flavor didn't work, you either made a variant class (urban ranger) or an alternate class (the Oriental Adventures classes). The flavor of the Paladin didn't work for my setting, so we created the Templar (swapped out lay on hands and turn undead for domains, made lay on hands the healing domain feature and turn undead the sun domain feature).

I'd like to know, civilly, why some people don't like baked in flavor. It seems like an automatic part of a class based system to me.
I think a default flavor is acceptable so long as there are alternatives. For example, take the cleric. You can have the god-worshipper, the meditating mystic, the person who believes so strongly in some ideal or code they get power from it.

For the warlock, you can have the crazy person who seems to be possessed by alien entities or the shaman who speaks to and makes deals with spirits for the good of the tribe.

The problem comes when people think the way they like to play a class is the only good way to do so.

Now, for stuff like flavor in power descriptions, it's fine so long as we know what is pure fluff and what is an expected part of the mechanics. Take the wart on the warlock's face. Is this something meant to signal to onlookers that the warlock is a warlock? Or is it just some random bit of flavor that could be replaced with the warlock getting a tingly feeling in his skin but no one noticing anything different about him.