I liked 2E, 3E, and 4E because they were different

I am unexcited by D&D Next. Here's why:

I've been playing D&D for over 20 years, since my big brother got me interested in OD&D. The first books I owned were 2E and I loved them. Later, in college, I got into 3E and enjoyed that as well, and a few years ago when 4E came out I bought those books (after being off the D&D wagon for a few years) and they got me into D&D all over again.

I don't really have a favorite edition, but I do know that what I loved about each edition was the new stuff it brought to the table. The way each edition revised some of my expectations and had some new ideas that made me think about the possibilities of pen and paper roleplaying differently, while still keeping enough of the core sense of D&D to be recognizable. I'm an inveterate house-ruler, so for the most part the problems with each edition didn't bother me too much--I'd just create house rules to paper over them and fix them, then be on my way. I never bothered with 3.5 edition because by the time it came out I had already modified so many aspects of 3E that I did not feel the need to buy someone else's modifications.

Enter D&D Next. At first I was excited because there are few things in life I love more than opening a new RPG book. Looking at the materials, though, I see very little that looks new. Just rehashed stuff from old editions cobbled together inelegantly.

And the forums are mostly full of people arguing over which edition D&D Next should resemble. Well, here's a novel idea: maybe it shouldn't resemble any of the previous editions. Maybe it should really be D&D Next, not D&D Previous.

Anyone else feel this way?
Yeah that's almost exactly how I am feeling.
Khyber is a dark and dangerous place, full of flame and smoke, where ever stranger things lie dormant.
The problem is that by and large, D&D fans (being the poster child of a Broken Base) firmly believe in They Changed It, Now It Sucks.