New to Magic, I want to make a Strong Green/Red deck.

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to magic and I am interested an a red and green deck with a few strong dragons.
I'm new to magic and I am interested an a red and green deck with a few strong dragons.

I think the best way for you to do this, as a newbie, is to use the Gatherer (gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Default.aspx) and do a Search for the word "Dragon". Find a dragon that you like, and check out its abilities. Then they key is to search in Green and Red for cards that either Support the Dragon's abilities, get it out on the field sooner, or Protect/Enhance it once it comes out. Sometimes the deck just kind of builds itself when you look at the Cards.
In green, you can use its many variants of mana ramp, be that creatures like Birds of Paradise or Llanowar Elves, or land fetching spells like Cultivate and Rampant Growth. The later will thin your deck a little (if there are enough of those cards), making it slightly more probable to draw a big dragon. Fierce Empath would fit well, since it can fetch your a dragon with 6+ converted mana cost (CMC) and provides a body to block with, stalling your opponent. Another great creature is Sakura-Tribe Elder, which is pretty much Rampant Growth with legs. Block with it, then sacrifice it to fetch a land, great way to stall and ramp your mana. Dawntreader Elk is much the same. You could even expand beyond a two color deck with such cards, and use the Elder Dragons, like Teneb, the Harvester. Add a few mass removal spells like Slice and Dice to clear the board before putting out your dragons. Ryusei, the Falling Star is both, he has quite the potential to stop an opponent's onlaught.