Complete beginner.

26 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi there, I don't know exactly where I'm supposed to post this so I thought here should do. I am thinking of getting into DnD. I have bought the latest red box starter set, and really enjoyed creating characters with me and my friends. However, before I invest any more into 4e, I want to make sure that the next edition that is currently being play tested will not be released within the year or so. How likely is this? should I wait before buying player handbooks, DM handbooks etc? Any advice would be fantastic. I'm new to rpgs which is why I didnt hesitate in buying the red box. 
Thanks for any advice.

bchatzis 
its up to you. the new edition is completely different from 4e, so if you like 4e, you can stick with it and buy the books very cheap. most people seem to agree that next years gencon will likely be the 5e release, so it could be out in a year. personally, i wouldnt want to wait that long, but if it matters to you, you could hold off. just keep in mind, a lot of people (myself included) still play versions from the 70s, so just play what you like 
Ok Great. Well i will stick with 4e for now till I get to grips with it, and see what happens with 5e if I get it or not. Thanks for your advice
I would go ahead and by everything that you can find right now. When 5e comes out, you could buy the set and maybe combine the two? is that legal?
I fight for freedom. I fight for justice. I fight for honor. I fight for VENGEANCE.Beware, all you monsters, all you villains, for you have unleashed the wrath of Edward Darkforest. May your god have pity on your soul. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDDGJr6LOiw&feature=share Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.
So what do you guys recommend I get to add to the red box for 4e? Thanks for your answers