Campaign Advice Wanted

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Recently my gaming group decided to hang up our long-time previous game (Star Wars Saga) and begin DnD 4th ed.  I was excited because I hadn't played DnD in a while, and I did miss it.  However the week everyone settled on their characters I had missed that night due to having a toothache (and had it removed the next morning).  Everyone made a striker of some sort or the other.  Warlock, Ranger, Assassin, Wizard... all of them.  Now when I got back I got told I was playing the tank.  Which is ok, I guess, but I've been playing meatshields in various games for the last 3-4 years and honestly I didn't really want to.  Now that you read that backstory: My problem.

I rolled a Warforged Paladin (Eberron setting) and I like it ok.  I added some weird quirks that are fun to use, and I like the character himself, but I'm just not in the mood to play another sword and board character.  I've been trying desperately to figure out how to replace him, but not let the strikers die because the wizard pricked his finger on a spinning wheel.  Without a healer it's bad enough, without a tank we're hosed.  I was thinking of making a Tempest Fighter.  After looking at what they can do, and my long-time wish to play with a spiked chain, I thought I could really have some fun with it.  However I admit ignorance in 4th ed as this is my first campaign with it.  I'm far better at 2nd ed and 3.5.

I wanted some help figuring out how to control the battlefield, and be the "meatshield" without having to be Constat Mcswordnboard all over again.  While I've loved the characters I've made, a change of pace after a few years of being the front-liner isn't going to kill me.  Though in this case it might very well kill them.  So I hope you can sling some advice my way.  I could sure use the help.