Give up D&D?

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
I recently came off of a campaign that I was DM'ing through VT. It was a decision of time management rather than content. I enjoyed my PC's, my story, and my Sunday game session. The problem is that I'm a medical student, and although I can time manage like a beast, I kept running into one problem continuously: reliability of player attendance.

Even though my PC's were responsible adults, they still arrived late or not at all a few times, and there is nothing I can do about that. If I was not going to show up, I let them know a week ahead. After 2 months away from it, I find that I miss creating the immersive experience. I miss coming up with story and having epic moments that feel cinematic. I miss plucking a person from the cast of characters that evoke a strong emotion for my PC's.

I've given up on D&D for now, but wonder if maybe there is another outlet for those things that I can pick up and put down in the course of an hour. Or something that doesn't change so drastically if one fewer person shows up.

Thoughts? Comments?