Do Proficiency bonuses stack?

18 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am relatively new to D&D and my friend & I slightly confused with the Player's Handbook.

My question is two-fold:
1) Do proficiency bonuses (that overlap) stack?
i.e.:
- 1st level Dwarf Cleric starts with Dwarven Weapon Proficiency (which grants proficiency [+2 Atk Bonus] to throwing hammers and warhammers).
- He then takes Dwarven Weapon Training (which grants proficiency to axes and hammers) as his 1st level Feat.
- He chooses a warhammer as his starting weapon. (Warhammer falls under the weapon category/type of hammer.)
~ Does he get +4 Atk Bonus to his melee attacks? or does he only get +2 Atk Bonus?

2) Can you take the same Feat multiple times?

Side-question: Do clerics start out with a holy symbol as one of their starting pieces of equipment?
1. He has a +2.  You are either proficient with a weapon, or you are not.

2. Only if the feat expressly states that you can.  The vast majority, you cannot.

3. No, if you want one, you'll need to purchase it (though you don't need it to use any of your implement powers).

Another day, another three or four entries to my Ignore List.
1. He has a +2.  You are either proficient with a weapon, or you are not.

2. Only if the feat expressly states that you can.  The vast majority, you cannot.

3. No, if you want one, you'll need to purchase it (though you don't need it to use any of your implement powers).

Thank you for answering the main two questions. Is there a written source that confirms your answers? (Not interested in making anymore mistakes.)

Why does it say on p. 222 of the PHB that a holy symbol is 10gp (with no stats listed), but later in the book, there is a +1 holy symbol listed for 360gp?

I was intending to purchase a holy symbol as part of the 100gp starting gear limit, but did not care to waste anything on a useless trinket that is simply called "holy symbol".

Is there any difference between the two (aside from price)?