[legacy] b/w control

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to the game and I'm trying to build my first deck, so any help will be appreciated.

For now I'm thinking in building the following deck:

Lands(20):
4 x Arcane Sanctum

4 x Azorius Chancery
4 x Forbidding Watchtower
4 x Celestial Colonnade
4 x Halimar Depths

Instants(16):
4 x Forbid
4 x Counterspell
4 x Dissipate
4 x Counterbore

Sorceries(19):
4 x Terminus
4 x Martial Coup
4 x Polymorph
4 x Planar Cleansing
3 x Long-Term Plans

Artifacts(4):
4 x Elixir of Immortality

Creatures(1):
1 x Progenitus

Sidedeck(15):
3 x Extract
4 x Redirect
4 x Day of Judgment
4 x Spell Burst

Deck Mechanics:

1 - Blue instants to counter my oponent spell, to slow him down and try to break his game strategy (Forbid can also enable me to discard Progenitus, to have him return to the library).

2 - White sorceries to clean up the batlefield from the permanents that weren't countered by the counterspells.

3 - Forbidding Watchtower and Celestial Colonnade to be able to defend and even attack, if needed.

4 - Elixir of Immortality to recover life points and cards.

5 - Long-Term Plans + Halimar Depths to get a Polymorph, if needed.

6 - Polymorph a token (from Martial Coup) or one of the Forbidding Watchtower's to put Progenitus in the battlefield.

7 - Win the game.

I 'm thinking about adding Elspeth, Knight-Errant for her first and last abilities: to get tokens to protect my life points and then to be able to make them indestructible and to make my Celestial Colonnade indesctructible in creature mod - a 4/4 indesctrutible creature with flying. But I'm not sure witch card to remove to add her.

Any tips and sugestions will be appreciated.
At first glance, I would note that all of your lands are ones that are going to enter tapped, so you're going to be at least a turn behind on mana curb. Never underestimate basic lands!
What is your Budget? Is this for play in Legacy Tournaments?