A new DM about to take on the playtest.

Hello everyone! I personally am new to the DnD fortay, and I figured that now is just as good a time to try my hand of it as any. I have been playing various verisons of the D20 system for about 2 or 3 years. I hope to report my progress here from the prospective of a new DN, two players famlier with the system, two completely new and one who gave it a shot a while ago. I hope to give it a shot tomorrow and have something to report back in a day or so.

Otherwise, as a random question, what have people been using as boards? I orignally intended to break down the maps into smaller parts to give the players a sense of perspective but I abbandoned that idea. Is the best option simply to draw it out as best as possible? I just felt I have completely underprepared for this venture. So it will probably have a lot of improvisation going on.
All I do is show them a rough drawing of the entire caves/valley from the outside.  Then I do everything else in "Theater of the Mind" style.   Once in a while, with a big cave or important area, I draw out the room and have them use figures, but I'm trying to avoid that as much as possible. 

A Brave Knight of WTF - "Wielder of the Sword of Balance"

Rhenny's Blog:  http://community.wizards.com/user/1497701/blog

The idea is to do everything by description.