Melee heavy dagger sorcerer?

33 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi all,

I'm new to 4e and D&D in general, but have been doing a lot of reading preparing for our first campaign.

I have a concept for a character brought about by reading the articles the shivs of sorcery and luckbenders in dragon which really has me wanting to play a wild magic sorcerer who fights close up, probably with sneak of shadows but little or no multiclassing past that. The idea of a character with pretty random spell effects swashbuckling his way into situations way over his head with only his luck getting him out in one piece sounds like great fun.

I'm concerned that this character may need a ton of feats to be at all viable and be very difficult to play at low level. I found one build on the wiki thread similar to what I'm thinking of, but several years old. I was thinking of going for luckbender or wild mage as a PP but am now thinking of something more along the lines of daggermaster or the like so i can actually get some use out of those blades. For race I was thinking of changeling, though human is tempting just for the extra feat.

You should know we have probably the most lax DM in existence with very loose rules. We'll probably be able to take 2 utility powers whenever we'd normally take one and also get free skill powers on top of that. We'll never have to worry about errata needing an ability and will always use the most powerful version published. If an ability fits in flavor but is underpowered he'll probably let us change it, especially if I can point to a guide that says the ability is weak. So feel free to alter abilities to fit your own idea of balance or suggest your own homebrew feats or powers or just make something up. Our DM really only cares about fun and has only the vaguest notion of balance (or even rules - luckily he's a hell of a story teller).