Need some help for a Campaign

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
It's my first time DMing and I got a decent group together (My brothers and three friends). I was asking them if they would like a normal setting, such as Underdark or Ebberon, or something new. After a three hour discussion, the agreement settled on a campaign based off of the world of Sarnaut from the game Allods Online. While most of the things I've already found their DnD equivalent, as I'd rather use some of the rules already there and don't feel like making anything from scratch yet as it's my first DMing experience, I'm stuck on a few things. For most of the things, I'm simply changing the names and background but using the basic rules for the race/class I'm using to represent them.

NOTE: We're using 4e, since I'm the only one in the group with 3.5e books.

Races:

Human - In Allods Online, the Human race is divided between to nations. The Kanians and the Xadaganians. The Kanian are more traditional fantasy, so they fit in perfectly with the standard Human race in DnD. However, the Xadaganians are more about steampunk and the advancement of technology and science. The Xadaganian Empire is very proud of their army and almost every member of the Empire has served in the military at some point in their life. I was wandering if their is a way to show the difference between the Kanians and Xadaganians using rules that are already in the game.

Arisen - In Allods Online, there is a race of 'undead' called the Arisen. They are allies of the Xadaganians, along with the Orcs, and have an affinity for Magic, in the game lore they're considered the most magically gifted race in all of Sarnaut. They are a combination of Machine and Undead. I was wondering if anyone could suggest a race already in DnD that is close enough that I can make them into the Arisen by just renaming a few things.

Orcs - Using the Half-Orcs with some minor tweaks.

Elves - Using basic/stander Elves.