Art Vandelay?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi everyone,
I'm still very new to deckbuilding and I'm trying to make a Grand Architect deck because it seems like a cool card and none of my friends have made a deck based around it. Having put it together and playing it a few times, I've noticed a few problems and could use some help. But first, the decklist.

Creatures (21)

[deck]4x Invisible Stalker[/deck]
[deck]4x Grand Architect[/deck]
[deck]4x Treasure Mage[/deck]
[deck]2x Steel Hellkite[/deck]
[deck]1x Myr Battlesphere[/deck]
[deck]2x Platinum Emperion[/deck]

Spells (12)
[deck]4x Mana Leak[/deck]
[deck]4x Vapor Snag[/deck]
[deck]4x Ponder[/deck]

Artifacts (3)
[deck]3x Runechanter's Pike[/deck]

Land (24)
[deck]24x Island[/deck]

Sideboard
No sideboard yet. Need to get that going.

Here are a few relevant thoughts:
1) Wurmcoil Engine was just too much money; I play too casually to spring for that. Instead, I just grabbed a few of the larger, less expensive artifact creatures to take it's place. I figured having a variety would allow me to choose the best one for the situation but I almost always just reach for Platinum Emperion
2) Delver of Secrets and Runechanter's Pike are just not working with my deck as constructed. I'm sure that's what you were all going to say first anyway. There just aren't enough instants or sorceries for it to consistently flip.
3) I'm wondering if that means I should drop Invisible Stalker too since he is really only worthwhile if he has something to boost his damage.