New player looking for some help with my first deck and getting started in the game.

6 posts / 0 new
Last post

Hello everyone I recently started playing M:TG I know its not a super cheap game and I do intend to put money into it, right now I have a fairly limited card pool. I am very experienced in card games and strategy games in general but with such a large card base available I'm trying to find a solid starting point. My current deck is a Mix of 2 Dark Ascension intro packs: Grave Power I’ve based around cards that boost for every creature in grave with a few Werewolves mainly just because that is where I would like to go with the deck. Here is my current list

Creatures Green

1x Wolfbitten Captive/Krallenhorde Killer
1x Lambholt Elder/Silverpelt Werewolf
1x Young Wolf
4x Ambush Viper
1x Strangleroot Geist
2x Splinterfright
2x Ghoultree
2x Boneyard Wurm
1x Acidic Slime
3x Dawntreader Elk

Creatures Blue

1x Moon Herron
2x Deranged Assistant
1x Tower Geist
2x Armored Skaab
1x Alluring Siren
1x Chasm Drake

Spells Green

1x Feed the Pack
4x Mulch
3x Tracker's Instincts
1x Grim Flowering
3x Wreath of Geists

Land

3x Evolving Wilds
12x Forest
7x Island

I would like to run more Geist and Young wolves but I have only pulled one of each. I’ve been playing against a Black Avacyn Restored Event Deck that my Girlfriend bought when I bought my two intro packs. I do not plan on sticking with this deck and I don't feel the water portion of the deck serves a lot of purpose. The water is mainly there because that’s how the deck came and I don’t have enough green cards to transfer it to a full green or a green/red. The more competitive deck I would like to start with is actually something really close to this. With the deck in the link I can buy everything there aside of the Huntmasters for around 60$ off of ARG or with Huntmaster for about 127$.