Police inspector/constable character

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
I had a RP idea for playing something akin to a rogue, but taking it in a different direction. A police officer hunting down a criminal mastermind. Something like Inspector Javier or the thief-catcher from Wheel of Time. A build that emphasizes tracking, information gathering via Intimidate, etc. The character would have some of the skills of a thief to better know his prey. I'm very new to 4th edition and only have access to PHB1, PHB2, MP1, and HOTFL. I'm worried that it may not be on par, power-wise, in my DM's combat-heavy campaign. I'm guessing we're going to stay in Heroic tier. Any ideas or suggestions on the build will be greatly appreciated!
It sounds like you're thinking more along the lines of a skillset and less along the lines of a preferred class. You might want to first figure out which skills are the most important to you. Typically an effective character has two stats that they try to keep as high as possible, so you'll probably want a class with primary and secondary ability scores that correspond with the skills you value the most.

Wisdom: Tracking is typically based of Perception, a very good skill for an inspector-type character to have. Insight is another good skill that uses Wisdom.

Dexterity: Skills like Thievery and Stealth rely on this.

Charisma: Intimidate and Displomacy want a good score here.

Once you identify which skills you want to keep top-tier, consider which classes best support this. For example, Rangers support Dex/Wis builds pretty well, and Rogues and Assassins can easily support Dex/Cha. If you're leaning towards Cha/Wis, Bard might be the way to go, etc.

And if you're having a hard time making up your mind, consideration of your party composition is also a good idea. For example, if your group already has three strikers and no leader, being a leader class could really help your group in a big way.