Noob to D&D. Eladrin vs Elf

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Im completely new to D&D, and have only played a few encounters, all with premade characters.
Im attempting to make my own character, and want to be a Ranger.
At first I really wanted to be an Eladrin, but after reading about the stat bonus's etc on Elves, i cant decide.
Can someone help me out?
Is being an Eldarin going to hinder my characters abilities majorly? 
At the end of the day, I just really want to be using a long bow, and maybe even be able to cast rituals.
I apologise that this is probably a really Noob question, and thanks to anyone that can help me out :D :D
 If you're squeezing for every advantage, the elf beats out the eladrin on the ranger.  Since most games aren't high op, though, you're not going to make a bad character out of the eladrin, far from it. 
Nah, not so much squeezing for every advantage. Just want the ritual casting to make playing my character a bit more interesting. Also, for her background story. I'm willing to sacrifice having some awesome bow skills, to be able to ritual cast. I just wasn't sure on how much I'm sacrificing lol. Thanks for help Dann :D
You don't have to sacrifice much.
There are three multiclass feats to get ritual casting aside from the feat itself.

Invoker, Wizard and Bard.

Each of the feats grants a skill training, but requires two ability scores at 13.
Invoker and Wizard want WIS 13 and INT 13
Bard wants INT 13 and CHA 13.

So if you have the ability scores, you get something better than the bare feat Ritual Caster.

IMAGE(http://www.wizards.com/magic/images/whatcolor_iswhite.jpg)