First Impressions by Old Players

So my group got together, and we ran through the playtest material.

I've been playing RPGs of all sorts with the current incarnation of this group for 12 years.  Two members I've been gaming with for 18 years.  One I've been gaming with for close to 28 years.  I trust their reactions, and their judgment.  Collectively, we've got over two centuries of gaming experience accumulated between us.  Most of us seem to have an attitude of "once bitten twice shy" when it comes to D&D.   As a group we all cheerfully invested our hard-earned cash in 4E with bright expectations for the new game, and as a group we were all very disappointed.  Nathan (the one with whom I have 28 years of mutual gaming history) has sworn that WotC will never see another non-Magic: The Gathering related dollar from him, ever, because he feels cheated when it came to 4E.

While the rest of us don't hold that view, we were all left feeling ill-used by the earlier edition.  I openly admit that this attitude probably colored our perception of the playtest material.

After the run-through I asked what they all thought.  They liked the game session well enough, but it wasn't compelling enough for anyone in the group to say they'd switch to Fifth.   The most enthusiastic reaction was probably from Steve, who said, "Well, at least its not Fourth Edition."  That brought a round of chuckles from everyone.  The general consensus on D&D 5th (we are refusing to call it by that ridiculous "D&D Next" moniker... though Nathan points out that if we were honest we'd be calling it D&D 9th) is that the designers are flailing around like drowning men, unsure of what particular elements it was that caused them to lose their market share.

All of us feel that 5E is a backpedal away from 4E.  None of us feel its going to be worth investing in.