"Ritual" seems all kinds of wrong

I have disliked the use of this word to describe this element of the game.

a rite  is an established form of religious or otherwise solemn practice; a ritual  is a prescribed form for carrying out the ceremonies associated with such a practice.

Magic is not religion so it makes little sense for both Clerics and Wizards to be doing rituals anyways.

I started playing in1 984 and there was a HEALTHY part of the populace that likened D&D to Devil worship in some books and publications.  With the imagery that was sometimes common to D&D, the uninitiated could certainly be led to agree.

I think using the word "Ritual" is maybe a mistake, given that there are so many less loaded words to use.  Ritual has a sinister AND religious connotation to it that doesn't match.

Some alternate ideas (please add yours!):
Thaumaturgy: 
the term was also born in religion and so it also is not perfect BUT it was a word with completely positive connotation which is how it differs from Ritual.  Thaumaturgists were Godly miracle workers.  The word over time came to be used to describe mechanical wonders and feats that were ill understood and seen as "magic" or miracles and finally later on to describe magical wonders in fiction.  It has mostly enjoyed a positive connotation.

Mechanical Arcanum