Modern Mirrodin throwback

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey folks!

Just wanted some advice, I wanted to build a throwback deck for Modern.  This is my first time playing the format and it looks like it could be really fun.  

Since the format allows access to some older stuff, I thought for my first deck, to throw together a Mirrodin-era staff deck.  I loved playing this deck back then, and I think an updated verson could do pretty well!  

Here's my inital thoughts, any advice/insight would be great!!  I'm a returning magic player, so I missed everything from kamagawa to just the most recent set, Innistrad, which brought me back.  My deck building skills may be a bit rusty, but here goes!

Artifacts:
2 Proteus Staff
3 Dimir Signet
3 Orzhov Signet

Creatures:
1 Emrakul, the Aeons Torn
1 Progenitus
1 Griselbrand
1 Avacyn, Angel of Hope

Sorcery:
4 Terminus
4 Lingering Souls
2 See Beyond
Polymorph

Instant:
4 Raise the Alarm
3 Path to Exile
3 Remand
4 Think Twice

Lands:
4 Blinkmoth Nexus
4 Glacial Fortress
6 Plains
6 Island

Thank you in advance for any advice!!  I live in Columbus and I'd like to hopefully get this tuned a bit for the GP in July!
Current Standard: Mono-White Humans Mono-Black Control B/U Zombies Current Modern: B/W/R Grislebrand/Zombie Infestation LGS: Pack Rats Hilliard, OH.
same with you: use autos:   [*c*]before card title and after[*/c*]....just dont use the stars *** when you write it.. gives this result:

think twice 
ur basically just running a poly deck so u might need more token generators,  the living weapons are good to get turn 1 tokens such as: flayer husk and wind zendikon is also a good option. Lingering souls?
edited for tags, thanks for the tip!-  

I like the flayer husk, I don't have much experience with the living weapons, and that's a really good call.   Ty!

Current Standard: Mono-White Humans Mono-Black Control B/U Zombies Current Modern: B/W/R Grislebrand/Zombie Infestation LGS: Pack Rats Hilliard, OH.