Help with this whole modern thing

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
I have been playing magic for many years now and I wish to get started into Modern. Like Standard i looked at the "top" modern decks and they all are basically the same type of decks. I would like to build a competitive deck. I would like to build a deck around Porphyry Nodes, Mirror Entity and Leyline of the void (if you could even build a competitive deck around them) but i dont even know what else would go well with them. Any ideas are well accepted. I tend to be a green player but it looks like green isn't amazing in modern... If anyone could help with deck suggestions or ideas that would be great. Even if you scrap the 3 cards I mentioned above any ideas are well accepted. Thanks!
green isnt amazing? Without tarmogoyf i dont know what else would be included into g/u builds. The good thing about modern is that it is a new meta and many new decks can be created.  This results in (if you have ever looked at ptq results) in a wider variety of contest winning decks.  At one tournament you may see an exarch twin deck take 1st 4th and 8th but then in another exarch twin may not even make it to top 8.  If you want to try to make your own deck with components not usually seen than you may have an advantage over unprepared metas.

As for your card choice i dont know how to keep the creatures in check.  The only way i could think is to use token generators and then have buff spells put on your opponents creatures which green is chalk full of.