4E fans, what exactly do you want to see in D&D Next?

58 posts / 0 new
Last post
Before we even get into the meat of my topic, I want to make something very,very clear. I'm a relatively new D&D player. I started playing during 4E. 4E was the edition Iearned how to play with. I then went and learned 3.5. 4E will always have a fond place in my heart, and I do like a lot of what it did. That said....there are a lot of things 4E did that don't feel very D&D-ish. Some of them were good changes, some of them were bad, and some of them were change for the sake of change.

So, one of the stated design goal of D&D Next is to create a game that feels like D&D. And I think one of the general consensuses of older edition players is that 4E doesn't feel like D&D. I can see why they say this. I don't quite entirely agree with them. 4E did do some things that were awesome and felt D&D to me. But there were elements of it that didn't feel very D&D-ish to me.

But I like 4E, and it would be a shame for us to lose everything that 4E brought us.

So what elements of 4E would you guys like to see make a return in 5E?

And remember, the playtest packet as we have it is not the final rules of the game. There are things they're still working on. So I already know two things that are going to come up, and I'd like to address them ahead of time:

1) Regarding the complex fighter: They're working on him. They said he isn't finished, so he didn't make it into this version of the playtest. Truth be told, at this stage of the playtest, where the intent is to test the core mechanics in as simple of a setting as possible, I think giving us the simple fighter was the right move. That said, I want both versions of the fighter to be core, and I'm hoping we get the complex fighter before the playtest is over so we can critique it and help them build exactly what we want.