The Umpteenth "My First Playtest Session" Post

My group had its first official playtest session tonight, though we had done a quick skirmish to test out the combat rules last week.  I figured I would post my thoughts.

I'll preface this with a bit of information about me and my players.  I have been playing for over 25 years, starting with the old red box, and them moving from 1E to 4E.  4E is my favorite version, but I miss a number of things from 3E.  Of the five folks I played with tonight, one had started with 2E, a couple more with 3E, and the others with 4E, so we have a wide range of experiences and expectations.  The sandbox style of the module is not our group's preference, and we usually play with a very full inventory of miniatures, Dwarven Forge, buildings, and terrain pieces.

Combat was generally pretty quick, but occasionally ground to a halt due to our lack of experience with "theater of the mind".  Figuring out spell area of effect was a chore too, and led to a lot of discussion.   For the most part it was well received.

We struggled quite a bit with the skills.  As a DM, I didn't too much difficulty assigning an ability check, but it did add to the (already considerable) DM burden.   For the players, there were a lot of questions about what exactly their skills represented (what falls under Folklore vs. Forbidden Lore? What's the difference between Wilderness Lore and Survival?  What exactly is Commerce?).  It was frustrating having no guidance, and based on recent posts related to the lack of a set skill list I am concerned.  On three separate occasions this stopped the game.