Concerning Players

18 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ok, so im pretty new to dm'ing and im very concerned about one player imparticular in my party...hes a VERY experienced player and dm, hes torn holes in my first 2 campaign attempts (not purposely mind you) and he knows how to optimize classes very very well within the confines of the rules including my own additions and my book limitations.  Already in this campaign of three players, he has trashed the first boss in 2 hits (minotaur cr4 with a party of 3 him being a sword sage one being a rogue and one fighter).  Yes...he two shotted the boss...so my question i guess is how do i limit him without making it feel like im singling him out or making him dumb down his character...or how do i level the playing field without destroying the other two party members whos strength (damage output and those such things) doesnt come close to his right now?
hes a VERY experienced player and dm, hes torn holes in my first 2 campaign attempts (not purposely mind you)

Sure about that?

so my question i guess is how do i limit him without making it feel like im singling him out or making him dumb down his character...or how do i level the playing field without destroying the other two party members whos strength (damage output and those such things) doesnt come close to his right now?

Make some of their objectives about something other than killing everything.

No amount of tips, tricks, or gimmicks will ever be better than simply talking directly to your fellow players to resolve your issues.
DMs: Dungeon Master 101  |  Find Your GM Style  |  Structure First, Story Last  |  No Myth Roleplaying  |  5e Monster Index & Encounter Calculator
Players: Players 101  |  11 Ways to Be a Better Roleplayer  |  You Are Not Your Character  |  Pre-Gen D&D 5e PCs

Content I Created: Adventure Scenarios  |  Actual Play Reports  |  Tools

I'm Recruiting Players for a D&D 5e Game: Interested?  |  Follow me on Twitter: @is3rith