Long Post: So We Gave It a Try

So my group has played the beta for “D&D Next”, sat down and spent our D&D session with it. Here's our thoughts about it, including some background on my group so that you can perhaps understand our biases. Overall, we'll continue trying “D&D Next” out (and thank Wizards of the Coast for the opportunity to do so), but we consider 4th Edition to be a better system and hope that Wizards of the Coast continues to support it as they move towards D&D Next.

Background
I have been playing D&D for not quite four years, and my first version of playing was the initial release of 4th Edition ("4th Ed" ), summer of 2008. We didn't play it for very long, and quick moved on to other systems, such as 3.5, Feng Shui, and Mechwarrior. I played with this group for almost three years.

During this time, I started up a second group,with a bunch of friends that have never played any other system with 4th Ed. I've been doing most of the DM'ing, and we've been playing together for almost 3 years. We've really enjoyed it and have had a lot of fun with it. In the last 6 months we've gotten two new players and are indoctrinating them proper into the system and D&D.

For about two years, I've played D&D twice a week; my 4th Ed group, and my 3.5-centric group.

Despite playing several other D&D systems I have to say that 4th Ed is heads and shoulders above any other system available. I was a great system for people new to D&D to quickly learn, and an incredibly easy system to DM. Likewise, I simply despise 3.5. I honestly tried to like it; I rolled three characters to get a large amount of experience with it and gave it every break I could. I ended up quitting my first group after they wanted to start another campaign in 3.5 because I simply hate the system that much. It's doggerel, in my humble opinion.