How to "scare the fear" away from my PCs?

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ok guys so I'm running my first Super Adventure and I've been planing this for at least 3 months, so if this one fails, I'll feel like a total moron...

The thing is that playing 3.5, my PCs faced death at level 3 for bad desitions, VERY stupid ones, so they fear exploring the world I planned and they practically run away from everything. I used the adventure of Kobold Keep on the DMs guide and when they found out about the dragon, they went out of the dungeon... They are lvl 4 now and don't plan on going back, not even if the dragon comes out and destroys the whole town...

So yeah, I'm playing with 3 guys that are ever so scared to go out, explore, do side quests, get new items or participate in events... and yeah, making Raise Dead Rituals much more cheaper would kill the thrill of exploring. 
Well, if the PCs aren't doing anything, you don't really have much of a game ... you could take this as an implicit statement that their PCs have 'retired', and take it from the top.

Probably not a very satisfying solution.

Anyway, the real solution, as it always is, is to talk to them about the situation in a calm, mature manner.
Another day, another three or four entries to my Ignore List.
Well, if the PCs aren't doing anything, you don't really have much of a game ... you could take this as an implicit statement that their PCs have 'retired', and take it from the top.

Probably not a very satisfying solution.

Anyway, the real solution, as it always is, is to talk to them about the situation in a calm, mature manner.